• Managing Cash Flow
    • Enable Growth

UNBLOCKING the Path to International Trade Success with Blockchain

  • Article

With fresh trade agreements now ratified and operational, it’s high time to strengthen the technological link between Canada and excellence in trade. Luckily, significant advances in blockchain can now help to make this a reality for mature tech start-ups and companies looking to scale-up to the next level.

Blockchain has had a mixed press over its lifetime to date. Its association and development with the Bitcoin cryptocurrency in the early days proved the technology’s worth as a secure distributed ledger system with enormous potential – and yet a decade on, people in the corporate sector would be forgiven for thinking that blockchain’s development has been lacking the impact of its promising start in life.

That’s certainly not the case, argue the people behind the consortiums who are reshaping the future of trade as they see it. The two major groupings – we.trade and Project Voltron – together command the support of several major banks and financial institutions who are currently collaborating in the digital trade arena to achieve standards and efficiencies for corporates across the globe.

we.trade is a European blockchain-based platform currently formed of 12 partners including HSBC. It started life in 2017 as the Digital Trade Chain, designed to facilitate digital trade finance activity for clients across Europe. As of 2018, we.trade has gone live, initially supporting clients in 11 western European countries, while preparing to expand across markets further afield.

HSBC is also one of eight founding members of the Voltron consortium, which has been active in parallel, developing end-to-end digitization for letter of credit transactions across an even wider reach of geographies and clients. At the time of writing, over 50 banks and corporates have been involved in trials and development across the globe, with R3’s Voltron platform already presiding over several live transactions since 2018.

Chain of tools

HSBC in particular, has good reason to trumpet blockchain’s potential. The Bank presided over the first ever real-time trade transaction using the technology in 2018, involving two counterparties between Singapore and Switzerland, with goods being shipped from Argentina to Malaysia.

This was ground-breaking not just because of the time saved from days to hours in processing the transaction digitally for their global commodities trading company client, but also because of the way in which the platform was structured – leaving ample room for innovation and improvements for future activity.

“We’re now in a phase of expanding these decentralised networks,” says Joshua Kroeker, HSBC’s Hong-Kong-based Senior Growth & Innovation Manager who has been at the forefront of blockchain’s most recent advances with the Project Voltron consortium. “If you can build a network between you and your largest competitors, then anyone will work together. The adoption curve and innovation appetite will vary from bank to bank and region to region, but that’s the direction we’re heading,” he adds.

Blockchain has moved on from the cryptocurrency-led novelty that had the tech community in thrall with its potential. Today, that potential is all about the range of commercial applications among firms imaginative enough to customize a system to optimize their own business growth model.

HSBC’s first live transaction is a case in point, reducing as it did the trade documentation process from what would normally be 5-10 days, to 24 hours. Businesses looking to scale-up operations by adopting a more commited cross-border growth strategy can begin to see the economies of scale, efficiencies and watertight security afforded by blockchain. And these benefits are available to even the smallest of enterprises ready for a step-change.

“The way these projects normally develop,” says Joshua, “is that a number of banks get together, they choose a technology provider, provide them all the user requirements and they develop a solution. It’s when banks try to commercialise the solution that you realise what was built isn’t exactly what your clients wanted.

“Project Voltron is different,” he continues, “From our experience working directly with trading corporates, we had a clear idea of what we wanted it to achieve and we developed it only to a stage where we considered it viable for live transactions. We then worked closely with our corporate trading clients, in the first instance, who provided input into the development to make sure the solution worked for them and was fit for purpose. That customer development and validation was crucial.”

With that key transaction now successful, HSBC has been continuing to build and test with a seven other banks and three technologiy partners to complete eight further transactions, including a second and third transation with HSBC’s global trading client that featured increasing complexity and maturity.

The Canada factor

This transaction was, in Joshua’s opinion, very well thought through but importantly, it had a clear vision. But what of its relevance to Canada?

As a Canadian himself, Joshua has a keen sense of the trade climate in-market, and just how much room there is for improvement. “If you’re a Canadian business, the idea of international trade can be overwhelming. Only recently has there been more attraction to international trade outside of the USA and the North American Corridor.”

Bolstered by the relatively new trade agreement between the EU and Canada, burgeoning Chinese links, and the revised Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) agreement that opens up opportunity across Asia, more trade is taking place – though the opaque nature of the process remains a sticking point for many. “For a new company wanting to explore these markets, the questions is often ‘how best can I do it?’,” says Joshua.

Go digital to free up trade

While banks are not short of products to mitigate overseas trade risk or provide working capital, by using traditional letters of credit and other tools, the complexity of these solutions is often cited by technology companies as a barrier to overseas trade.

“We’re trying to increase access to the bank products that banks offer risk mitigation and facilitation of trade, but do it in a way that’s easier to understand and consume,” says Joshua. “The best way to do that is to make it digital.”

The proportion of the corporate sector in Canada active in international trade is still relatively small when US and Mexico trade is excluded, but the extent of the potential becomes clear as business moves into a new phase of digitalized trade.

It’s a great opportunity, Joshua argues, for Canadian corporates to apply a “practical, tech-first solution” to allow them to take advantage of those new trade agreements.

Canada can build a better pathway

Once the infrastructure behind a blockchain platform is up and running, any number of applications can be added to it without a significant capital spend. For Canadian companies in the tech sector itself that can demonstrate the appropriate level of agility and understanding of its use, there is a natural opportunity for them to offer user solutions domestically or worldwide.

As of the beginning of 2019, there were an estimated 2301 start-ups in Canada dedicated to blockchain, boasting investment funds of between US$250,000 and US$38 million – evidence if it were needed that the opportunity to make their mark globally is very real.

“The most exciting potential for Canada’s tech sector in the next five years will be to gain access to the world through the global blockchain networks that are beginning to emerge, agrees Joshua. “If we can get this right and the Canadian tech sector adopts it , it will given them direct access to the world.”

Need help?

Get in touch to learn more about our banking solutions and how we can help you drive your business forward.

• Gestion des flux de trésorerie
    • Favoriser la croissance

Débloquer le succès en matière de commerce international grâce à la chaîne de blocs

  • Article

Les nouveaux accords commerciaux ratifiés étant en vigueur, il est grand temps de renforcer le lien technologique entre le Canada et l’excellence commerciale. Heureusement, la chaîne de blocs marque des progrès importants et permet d’ancrer cette réalité pour les jeunes entreprises technologiques qui arrivent à maturité et les autres qui rêvent d’expansion.

Les médias sont partagés à propos de la chaîne de blocs depuis sa création. Son association et son développement au départ avec Bitcoin, la cryptomonnaie, ont prouvé la valeur et l’énorme potentiel de cette technologie comme système sécurisé de registres distribués. Pourtant, une décennie plus tard, on pardonnera aux entreprises d’avoir cru que la chaîne de blocs ne tiendrait pas ses promesses.

Il n’en est rien, affirment les consortiums qui repensent leur vision d’avenir du commerce international. Les deux principaux groupes – we.trade et Project Voltron – coordonnent le soutien de plusieurs grandes banques et établissements financiers qui collaborent dans le domaine du commerce numérique afin de proposer des normes et des gains d’efficacité aux entreprises de la planète.

Plateforme européenne basée sur la chaîne de blocs, we.trade réunit douze partenaires, dont la HSBC. Créée en 2017 sous le nom Digital Trade Chain, cette plateforme numérique visait à faciliter le financement des opérations de commerce international pour les clients en Europe. Entrée en service en 2018, we.trade prenait en charge à ses débuts des clients de onze pays d’Europe occidentale, tout en préparant son expansion.

La HSBC fait aussi partie des huit membres fondateurs du consortium Voltron, qui travaille en parallèle à numériser de bout en bout les lettres de crédit et à étendre encore sa portée géographique et sa clientèle. Au moment de rédiger cet article, plus de 50 banques et entreprises dans le monde participaient aux essais et au développement, la plateforme R3 de Voltron ayant déjà exécuté plusieurs opérations depuis 2018.

Chaîne d’outils

La HSBC, en particulier, a une bonne raison de vanter le potentiel de la chaîne de blocs. La Banque a présidé à la toute première opération de commerce international en temps réel à l’aide de cette technologie en 2018. Singapour et la Suisse, les deux contreparties, avaient alors expédié des biens de l’Argentine vers la Malaisie.

Cette révolution numérique a permis non seulement de ramener à quelques heures un traitement qui prenait des jours pour le client, un négociant international de produits de base, mais aussi de structurer la plateforme en laissant beaucoup de place à l’innovation et aux améliorations pour les activités futures.

«Nous sommes en phase d’expansion afin d’étendre ces réseaux décentralisés», précise Joshua Kroeker, premier directeur, croissance et innovation, HSBC, Hong Kong, et précurseur des plus récents progrès de la chaîne de blocs dans le cadre du consortium Project Voltron. «Si vous pouvez établir un réseau entre vous et vos principaux concurrents, tout le monde va travailler ensemble. La courbe d’adoption et la soif d’innovation varient d’une banque et d’une région à l’autre, mais c’est la direction que nous prenons», plaide-t-il.

La chaîne de blocs n’est plus la nouveauté annoncée par les cryptomonnaies et dont le potentiel séduisait le milieu technologique. Aujourd’hui, ce potentiel tient à l’éventail des applications commerciales chez les sociétés assez ingénieuses pour personnaliser un système en vue d’optimiser leur modèle d’expansion des affaires.

La première opération en direct de la HSBC le prouve, ayant ramené le traitement des documents commerciaux à 24 heures, alors qu’il fallait habituellement de cinq à dix jours. Les entreprises désireuses de prendre de l’expansion en intensifiant leur stratégie de croissance transfrontalière entrevoient déjà les économies d’échelle, les gains d’efficacité et la sécurité à toute épreuve proposés par la chaîne de blocs. Et ces avantages s’offrent même aux plus petites entreprises prêtes à faire un saut évolutif.

«Ces projets prennent forme normalement, explique Joshua, lorsqu’un certain nombre de banques se regroupent et qu’elles choisissent un fournisseur de technologie à qui elles confient un cahier des charges pour l’élaboration d’une solution. Lors de la commercialisation, les banques peuvent constater que la solution ne correspond pas exactement aux attentes des clients.

«Project Voltron est différent, poursuit-il. L’expérience acquise en travaillant directement avec des négociants internationaux nous a donné une idée précise de l’objectif à atteindre et nous avons limité le développement à un stade jugé viable pour les opérations en direct. Nous avons ensuite collaboré étroitement en tout premier lieu avec nos négociants, qui ont eu leur mot à dire dans le développement afin que la solution leur convienne. L’étape de développement et de validation auprès des clients a été cruciale.»

Grâce au succès de cette opération, la HSBC s’apprête à en réaliser huit autres, notamment une deuxième et une troisième plus complexes avec le négociant international arrivé à maturité, en poursuivant les travaux de développement et de mise à l’essai avec sept autres banques et trois partenaires technologiques.

Le facteur canadien

De l’avis de Joshua, cette opération planifiée avec minutie bénéficiait avant tout d’une vision précise. Mais, est-elle pertinente pour le Canada?

Lui-même canadien, Joshua sent bien le pouls du commerce international en succursale et voit le potentiel d’amélioration. «Pour une entreprise canadienne, l’idée du commerce international peut être déroutante. Le regain d’intérêt pour le commerce international en dehors des États-Unis et du corridor nord-américain est tout récent.

Soutenus par l’accord commercial relativement nouveau entre l’UE et le Canada, par l’éclosion des liens avec la Chine et par la révision du partenariat transpacifique avec l’Asie, les échanges commerciaux s’intensifient, même si l’opacité du processus soulève un doute chez nombre d’observateurs. «Une nouvelle entreprise désireuse d’explorer ces marchés se demande souvent comment s’y prendre», ajoute Joshua.

Le numérique, libérateur des échanges

Les banques ne manquent pas de produits pour atténuer les risques du commerce international ou pour soutenir le fonds de roulement, mais les lettres de crédit traditionnelles et d’autres outils apportent des solutions dont la complexité fait souvent obstacle aux échanges, déplorent les entreprises technologiques.

«Nous tâchons d’accroître l’accès aux produits bancaires qui limitent les risques et fluidifient le commerce, tout en facilitant leur compréhension et leur utilisation, précise Joshua. Le numérique offre la meilleure façon d’y arriver.»

La proportion des sociétés canadiennes qui participent au commerce international demeure plutôt modeste, si l’on exclut les échanges avec les États-Unis et le Mexique, mais l’ampleur du potentiel apparaît à l’amorce d’une nouvelle phase de numérisation dans les entreprises.

C’est une belle occasion pour les entreprises canadiennes, estime Joshua, de profiter des nouveaux accords commerciaux en déployant une «solution pratique qui privilégie la technologie».

Le Canada peut tracer une meilleure voie

Dès que l’infrastructure nécessaire à une plateforme axée sur la chaîne de blocs sera opérationnelle, les applications pourront s’y multiplier sans exiger d’investissements majeurs. Les entreprises technologiques canadiennes qui manifesteront l’agilité voulue et qui comprendront l’utilisation de la chaîne de blocs auront naturellement l’occasion de proposer des solutions aux utilisateurs locaux ou internationaux.

Depuis le début de 2019, on estime à environ 2301 le nombre d’entreprises canadiennes en démarrage qui se consacrent à la chaîne de blocs. Preuve, s’il en fallait, que l’occasion de laisser leur marque dans le monde est bien réelle, elles investissent de 250 000 $US à 38 millions $US.

«Le potentiel le plus attrayant pour le secteur technologique au Canada dans les cinq prochaines années repose sur l’accès aux réseaux mondiaux en pleine éclosion de la chaîne de blocs, convient Joshua. Si nous savons y faire et que le secteur technologique canadien s’adapte, les entreprises jouiront d’un accès mondial direct.»

Besoin d'aide?

Vous avez des questions? Vous êtes prêt à commencer? Demander qu'on vous rappelle