• Innovation & Transformation
    • COVID-19

Moving from Resiliency to Recovery

  • Article

The COVID-19 pandemic appears to be nearing its end. What does the post-pandemic era have in store for Canadian businesses?

With COVID-19 vaccination rollouts at full throttle in many regions of Canada (and worldwide), the pandemic thankfully seems to be on its last legs. By fall 2021 Canadian businesses should be returning to something resembling normalcy after more than a year of being battered by the crisis.

Many Canadian businesses are looking at the end of the pandemic as an opportunity to come back stronger. They’ve survived the worst-case scenario, and are looking ahead at a “new normal” filled with possibility. They’ve proven how resilient they can be, and are shifting their focus to both recovering from the challenges of the past year and thriving in the years ahead.

“Canadian companies are feeling bullish about the next two years,” says Dan Leslie, Senior Vice President and Head of Client Coverage, HSBC Bank Canada. “They’re feeling optimistic about the future, with many expecting to return to pre-pandemic levels of profitability by the end of 2022. They’re also fully mindful that workplace upskilling, innovation and expanding into new markets will help them ride the wave to post-pandemic success.”

As the post-pandemic era nears, Canadian companies have also learned from the crisis that success requires more than just profit; it’s also about culture, sustainability and innovation.

Business and Entrepreneurship

Most Canadian companies are prepared to spend money in order to expand — even businesses with declining sales. Many indicated throughout the pandemic that they’re intent on investing in technology.

“Smart companies are also focusing on two fundamental areas this year as the pandemic draws to a close – customer experience and employee well-being,” Leslie says. “That involves investing in tech that not only improves the customer experience but also helps companies find customers and build brand loyalty.”

In short, savvy companies are now investing to deliver value over the long term, prioritizing investment over immediate shareholder returns.

Trade and Internationalism

Although there was a massive drop in international trade throughout 2020, many Canadian companies still conducted more than half their business internationally — and that’s ramping up in 2021, as the pandemic slowly begins to recede in the rear-view mirror. Today about 75% of that international trade takes place in North America , but trade with Europe is expected to increase over the next three to five years. China, meantime, is Canada’s No. 2 trading partner, making up 4.7% of our international trade.

Recent HSBC research2 has revealed close to three quarters of Canadian companies expect their sales in China to grow over the next two years as the country continues to be a target destination market and a key player in Canadian supply chains.

“Canadian companies recognize the many benefits of international trade for their business, for the communities where they operate and for consumers,” says Leslie.

A greater focus on international markets makes sense in the post-pandemic economy. Many companies believe reducing international trade would impact their business in three major, negative ways — a drop in customer demand, a loss of employee mobility and limited supply of raw materials.

Sustainability

Most Canadian companies have set targets for a wide range of ESG (environmental, social and governance) initiatives post-pandemic. Many have annual ESG targets in place, or are setting targets for 2025.

“Given the impact COVID-19 had on front-line workers, the pandemic has also caused Canadian companies to regard workplace-focused initiatives as among the most important opportunities to improve their ESG performance,” says Leslie. “That’s meant promoting employee well-being and enabling new ways of working.”

Many are seeing the benefits to their bottom lines in becoming more sustainable, and expect sales to grow due to their greater focus on sustainability.

Supply Chains

The COVID-19 pandemic highlighted the fragility, vulnerability and unreliability of global supply chains, particularly when the crisis first hit. Consequently, many Canadian businesses are concerned about their supply chains — especially around increasing costs, suppliers that don’t meet sustainability requirements and supply chain partners who haven’t been sufficiently agile.

In response, businesses began choosing suppliers based on their country/government’s control of COVID-19 and increasing usage of digital/technology. The key benefits were cost reduction, increasing speed to market and enhanced security.

Now well into the pandemic’s second year, many Canadian businesses are focusing on suppliers closer to their customers or closer to home, and choosing suppliers based on their operational resilience and ability to deliver quickly.

“It’s all made very clear the utmost importance of enhancing supply chain security in the event of another black swan event,” says Leslie. “Even though we’re almost out of the woods in terms of this pandemic, smart businesses must do the hard work of ensuring the resilience and agility of their supply chain partners in the event another major crisis looms in the future.”

That advance planning and forethought — in all areas, including supply chains, ESG efforts, sustainability and international trade — are integral to ensuring businesses thrive during any kind of future disruption.

The post-pandemic period is on the horizon, and more companies are moving their day-to-day focus from resiliency to recovery. Those that plan ahead can ensure continued profitability and a smoother road to recovery.

Contact HSBC to discuss how your business can navigate the short term to thrive in the years ahead.


1 https://wits.worldbank.org/CountryProfile/en/Country/CAN/Year/LTST/Summarytext

2 https://www.business.hsbc.com/navigator/growing-with-china

Disclaimers

© Copyright HSBC Bank Canada 2021. All rights reserved. No part of this document may be reproduced, stored, distributed or transmitted in any form without the prior written permission of HSBC Bank Canada.

The information presented is not meant to be comprehensive and does not constitute financial, legal, tax or other professional advice. You should not act upon the information contained in this document without first obtaining specific professional advice. While reasonable care has been taken in preparing this document, HSBC does not make any guarantee, representation or warranty (express or implied) as to its accuracy or completeness. The information presented in this document is subject to change without notice.

Certain of the products and services offered by HSBC and its subsidiaries and affiliates are subject to credit adjudication and approval. This document does not constitute an offer to provide the services and products described and the provision of such services and products remains subject to contract.

“HSBC” is a trademark of HSBC Holdings plc and has been licensed for use by HSBC and its affiliates.

• Innovation et Transformation
    • Incidence de la Covid-19

Passer de la résilience à la reprise

  • Article

La pandémie de COVID-19 semble tirer à sa fin. Que réserve l’après-pandémie aux entreprises canadiennes?

Les campagnes de vaccination contre la COVID-19 s’accélèrent dans de nombreuses régions du Canada (et ailleurs dans le monde) et la pandémie donne heureusement l’impression d’être sur le point de disparaître. D’ici l’automne 2021, les entreprises canadiennes devraient revenir à un semblant de normalité après plus d’un an de crise éprouvante.

Bon nombre d’entre elles voient la fin éventuelle de la pandémie comme une occasion de revenir en force. Elles ont survécu au pire scénario et entrevoient une «nouvelle normalité» riche en possibilités. Leur résilience a fait ses preuves et elles peuvent désormais non seulement se remettre des difficultés de la dernière année, mais aussi se concentrer sur leur prospérité future.

«Les entreprises canadiennes voient les deux prochaines années d’un bon œil, explique
Dan Leslie, premier vice-président et responsable en chef national des clients à la Banque HSBC Canada. Elles sont optimistes quant à l’avenir et plusieurs s’attendent à renouer d’ici 2022 avec leur niveau de rentabilité d’avant la pandémie. De plus, elles sont bien conscientes de l’importance de perfectionner la main-d’œuvre, d’innover et de percer de nouveaux marchés pour tirer leur épingle du jeu.»

En cette fin de crise, les entreprises canadiennes ont également appris que le profit n’est pas le seul gage du succès : la culture organisationnelle, le développement durable et l’innovation sont des facteurs tout aussi importants.

Affaires et entrepreneuriat

La plupart des entreprises canadiennes sont prêtes à dépenser de l’argent pour prendre de l’expansion, même si leurs ventes accusent une baisse. Tout au long de la pandémie, plusieurs ont annoncé leur intention d’investir dans la technologie.

«Maintenant que la pandémie se résorbe, les entreprises averties se concentrent cette année sur deux piliers importants : l’expérience client et le bien-être des employés, ajoute M. Leslie. Pour ce faire, elles doivent investir dans des outils technologiques qui leur permettent non seulement d’améliorer l’expérience client, mais aussi d’attirer et de fidéliser une nouvelle clientèle.»

Bref, les sociétés avisées investissent aujourd’hui pour générer une valeur à long terme, et accordent plus d’importance à ces investissements qu’au rendement immédiat des actionnaires.

Commerce international et mondialisation

Malgré le coup de frein brutal donné en 2020 au commerce international, plusieurs entreprises canadiennes exercent toujours plus de la moitié de leurs activités à l’étranger, une proportion qui va augmenter en 2021 à mesure que la pandémie se résorbera lentement. À l’heure actuelle, environ 75 % de ces échanges commerciaux se déroulent en Amérique du Nord, mais on s’attend à une reprise des activités avec l’Europe au cours des trois à cinq prochaines années. Par ailleurs, la Chine est le deuxième partenaire en importance du Canada, représentant 4,7 % de nos échanges commerciaux internationaux.

Une étude récente de la HSBC2 a révélé que près des trois quarts des entreprises canadiennes s’attendent à ce que leurs ventes en Chine augmentent au cours des deux prochaines années, puisque ce pays demeure un marché convoité et un acteur incontournable des chaînes d’approvisionnement canadiennes.

«Les entreprises canadiennes reconnaissent que le commerce international a de nombreuses retombées positives sur leurs activités, leurs collectivités et les consommateurs»,
précise M. Leslie.

Il sera logique dans une économie post-pandémie de cibler davantage les marchés internationaux. De nombreuses entreprises estiment qu’une baisse de leurs activités à l’international leur serait défavorable à trois égards : chute de la demande des clients, perte de mobilité des employés et offre limitée de matières premières.

Développement durable

La plupart des entreprises canadiennes entendent mener un large éventail d’initiatives ESG (environnementales, sociales et de gouvernance) lorsque la pandémie sera chose du passé. Bon nombre d’entre elles se sont fixé des objectifs ESG annuels ou sont en voie d’établir des cibles à atteindre d’ici 2025.

«Compte tenu de l’incidence de la COVID-19 sur les travailleurs de première ligne, les initiatives axées sur le milieu de travail sont devenues une arme de choix pour améliorer le rendement ESG des entreprises canadiennes. Pour ce faire, elles misent sur le bien-être des employés et explorent de nouvelles façons de travailler», ajoute M. Leslie.

Plusieurs entreprises constatent les effets bénéfiques d’une telle approche sur leurs résultats et s’attendent à ce que leurs ventes augmentent en raison de l’importance accordée au développement durable.

Chaînes d’approvisionnement

La pandémie de COVID-19 a mis en lumière la fragilité, la vulnérabilité et le manque de fiabilité des chaînes d’approvisionnement mondiales, surtout au début de la crise. La chaîne d’approvisionnement est donc une source d’inquiétude pour plus d’une entreprise canadienne, que ce soit en raison de la hausse des coûts, de fournisseurs non conformes aux exigences de durabilité ou du manque d’agilité de certains partenaires.

Les entreprises ont donc commencé à choisir leurs fournisseurs en fonction des mesures déployées dans leur pays pour contrer la COVID-19, et ont davantage fait appel aux technologies numériques et autres. Parmi les principaux avantages constatés, notons une réduction des coûts, une mise en marché plus rapide et une sécurité renforcée.

Maintenant que la deuxième année de la pandémie est bien amorcée, de nombreuses entreprises canadiennes privilégient les fournisseurs de proximité (près de leurs activités ou de leurs clients) qui démontrent une bonne résilience opérationnelle et sont en mesure de livrer rapidement.

«La crise a démontré sans l’ombre d’un doute qu’une chaîne d’approvisionnement sûre est cruciale lorsque survient un “cygne noir”. Même si la pandémie achève, les entreprises averties ne doivent pas ménager leurs efforts pour garantir la résilience et l’agilité de leurs partenaires d’approvisionnement en prévision d’une prochaine crise majeure.»

Une démarche axée sur la planification et la prévoyance à tous les niveaux (chaîne d’approvisionnement, initiatives ESG, développement durable et commerce international) est indispensable pour permettre aux entreprises de prospérer, quelles que soient les perturbations à venir.

L’après-pandémie se profile à l’horizon et de plus en plus d’entreprises peuvent maintenant réorienter leurs efforts quotidiens de la résilience vers la reprise. Celles qui planifient la suite des choses se donnent les moyens de rester rentables et de passer plus aisément en mode reprise.

Communiquez avec la HSBC pour discuter des défis que votre entreprise doit relever à court terme pour prospérer dans les années à venir.


1 https://wits.worldbank.org/CountryProfile/en/Country/CAN/Year/LTST/Summarytext

2 https://www.business.hsbc.com/navigator/growing-with-china

Avis

© Banque HSBC Canada, 2021. Tous droits réservés. Aucune partie du présent document ne peut être reproduite, conservée, distribuée ou transmise sans l’autorisation écrite préalable de la Banque HSBC Canada.

Les renseignements fournis ne sont pas nécessairement exhaustifs et ne sauraient être interprétés comme des conseils professionnels de nature financière, juridique, fiscale ou autre. Vous ne devriez pas agir sur la foi de cette information sans avoir obtenu les conseils d’un professionnel. Le présent document a été préparé avec soin, mais la HSBC ne peut garantir ni s’engager à déclarer (explicitement ou implicitement) que ces renseignements sont exacts et complets. Les renseignements présentés dans ce document peuvent être modifiés sans préavis.

Certains des produits et services proposés par la HSBC, ses filiales et ses sociétés affiliées sont offerts sous réserve d’une approbation de crédit. Ce document ne saurait constituer une offre de fournir les services et les produits qui y sont décrits et la prestation de ces services et produits demeure assujettie au contrat.

«HSBC» est une marque de commerce de HSBC Holdings plc, utilisée par la HSBC et ses sociétés affiliées en vertu d’une licence.

Publié par la Banque HSBC Canada (la «HSBC»).