HSBC Diversity Series with Nadine Spencer
  • Innovation & Transformation
    • Open Banking

Everyone deserves to be seen: Part 1

  • Article

In Conversation With… Nadine Spencer, President and CEO, Black Business and Professional Association

HSBC's In Conversation With… series is aimed at spotlighting diverse business leaders who serve as a source of inspiration to entrepreneurs everywhere. We recently sat down with Nadine Spencer, President and CEO of the Black Business and Professional Association (BBPA). In the first of her two-part interview, Nadine shares her thoughts on entrepreneurism, equity, resilience and why economic opportunities for Black businesses and entrepreneurs begin with being seen.

The BBPA recently launched its Business Advisory Implementation and Development Service (BAIDS), a bespoke program designed to provide Black businesses with resources and solutions needed to tackle the challenges in a post-COVID recovery stage. Effectively, the participants will receive pro bono services and support through the BBPA. HSBC Bank Canada is proud to provide financial support for the BAIDS program that will provide Black business owners with access to experts in various professional fields. HSBC employees will also be invited to be professional resources and mentors.

HSBC understands there is more work to do in supporting Black, Indigenous and People of Colour (BIPOC) businesses and hiring BIPOC talent, because we understand the value of diverse perspectives. Our efforts to do better have included signing the BlackNorth pledge, a commitment to seven goals we believe will move Canada toward ending anti-Black systemic racism and creating opportunities for underrepresented groups. By 2025, HSBC Group is also aiming to double the number of Black employees in leadership positions. As part of our commitment to BlackNorth, we have also committed to having at least 3.5 per cent of executive and board roles in Canada held by Black leaders by 2025. Read our interview with Nadine:

Tell us about the Black Business and Professional Association and its history.

The organization has been around for 38 years. Our founder, Denham Jolly, started it because he recognized that Black entrepreneurs did not have the access or the resources they needed to thrive in the business community.

What's the organization's mission, and how does it help young, Black, aspiring entrepreneurs in particular?

Our mission is all about equity. We are here to address injustices and disparities in resource availability, and to create economic opportunities for Black businesses and professionals. We do this through our programs and educational initiatives, including scholarships for Black students. Last year we had 1,547 Black students apply for scholarships, and we were able to support 108 of them.

But the 1,400 Black students who did not receive scholarships also need support. Part of the solution is our programs focusing on mentorship and entrepreneurial training, which provide young entrepreneurs with leadership and guidance.

What's your own personal story of entrepreneurship?

I became an entrepreneur at the age of 12. I was in a very difficult situation. My mom moved to Canada, and she left me with her friend in Jamaica until she was able to get settled in her new home. She didn't realize that her friend would not do the best job of taking care of me. I was often pulled out of school to run errands. On one of those errands, when I was around 100 miles away with no resources or way to get back, I came up with a business plan. That's when I became a businesswoman—at the age of 12!

This is why I am so passionate about championing entrepreneurship. In 2016, I won the BBPA Harry Jerome Award, the highest achievement you can get in the Black community for business. That award belongs to the 12-year-old girl I once was, who made the decision to become an entrepreneur without even knowing what the word meant.

What was your business as a 12-year-old girl?

In Spanish Town, Jamaica, they make these delicious flat cakes, and my mother's friend asked me to go buy some. But the first time she sent me, she didn't give me any money to get home.

I got there and met a woman in the market, and told her I'd be coming back regularly for the flat cakes, so I'd like for her to sell me 10 cakes for the price of eight. I made the deal with her, then took the extra money and bought parchment paper. After wrapping the flat cakes in the parchment paper, I went to another part of the marketplace and sold them. I made a profit, so not only was I able to pay the bus fare to go home, I was also able to have a meal (after buying a second set of cakes to take home).

I eventually became a mogul of the cake business. Each week it got bigger and better as I found new ways of selling more cakes.

Every woman should have the ability to run a business. Even if you're not formally educated, as long as you have a great product, you can be an entrepreneur. You can create a future for yourself and make a difference for your family and community.

How has the Black business community been affected by the COVID-19 pandemic and the systemic racism highlighted by the Black Lives Matter movement?

When COVID-19 happened, we did a survey comparing mainstream businesses and Black-owned businesses. We found that many mainstream businesses had a minimum of six months' cash reserves in the bank, while the average Black business only had one month. Why? Because they don't have access to credit, or to networks and important resources.

So I launched a 24-hour hotline, knowing these people needed advice. I managed the line myself. I took phone calls morning, noon and night, listening as Black entrepreneurs told me their challenges. The most common problem I heard was that they didn't have people telling them where to go, what to do, and how to get funds. Barriers created by systemic racism prevented those entrepreneurs from accessing the resources they needed to sustain themselves.

Systemic racism continues to be a problem. I have clients who are not Black, and they have told me that the bank calls them repeatedly offering CEBA (Canada Emergency Business Account) loans, which are interest-free loans of up to $40,000 for Canadian small businesses and nonprofits. One client said, "I don't even need the money, I just took it so they'd stop calling me." But when I called Black businesses, they told me that their bank managers had not called them at all to talk about the CEBA loans.

The Black Lives Matter movement did help raise awareness about the challenges Black businesses are facing in the community at large. We have new allies because of the movement, including corporate partners like HSBC. I speak regularly with all of our partners, and they tell me that they hear first-hand the challenges that Black entrepreneurs face just because of our skin colour.

Fortunately, with funding from HSBC, we have been able to access resources to help these businesses.

Disclaimers

© Copyright HSBC Bank Canada 2021. All rights reserved. No part of this document may be reproduced, stored, distributed or transmitted in any form without the prior written permission of HSBC Bank Canada.

The information presented is not meant to be comprehensive and does not constitute financial, legal, tax or other professional advice. You should not act upon the information contained in this document without first obtaining specific professional advice. While reasonable care has been taken in preparing this document, HSBC does not make any guarantee, representation or warranty (express or implied) as to its accuracy or completeness. The information presented in this document is subject to change without notice.

Certain of the products and services offered by HSBC and its subsidiaries and affiliates are subject to credit adjudication and approval. This document does not constitute an offer to provide the services and products described and the provision of such services and products remains subject to contract.

“HSBC” is a trademark of HSBC Holdings plc and has been licensed for use by HSBC and its affiliates.

HSBC Diversity Series with Nadine Spencer
  • Innovation et Transformation
    • Services Bancaires Ouverts

La visibilité pour tous : Partie 1

  • Article

Conversation avec… Nadine Spencer, présidente et chef de la direction, Black Business and Professional Association

La série Conversation avec… de la HSBC vise à mettre de l’avant des chefs d’entreprise qui sont une source d’inspiration pour les entrepreneurs du monde entier. Nous nous sommes entretenus récemment avec Nadine Spencer, présidente et chef de la direction de la Black Business and Professional Association (BBPA). Dans la première partie de cette entrevue en deux volets, Nadine Spencer nous fait part de ses réflexions sur l’entrepreneuriat, la justice et la résilience, et nous explique pourquoi les occasions économiques pour les chefs d’entreprise et entrepreneurs noirs commencent par la visibilité.

La BBPA a récemment lancé le programme sur mesure Business Advisory Implementation and Development Services (BAIDS), conçu pour fournir aux chefs d’entreprise noirs les ressources et les solutions permettant de relever les défis de l’après-COVID. Les participants recevront des services et un soutien bénévoles par l’intermédiaire de la BBPA. La Banque HSBC Canada est fière de soutenir financièrement le programme BAIDS, qui permettra aux chefs d’entreprise noirs d’avoir accès à des experts dans divers domaines professionnels. Les employés de la HSBC seront aussi invités à aider en jouant un rôle de ressource professionnelle et de mentor.

La HSBC est consciente qu’il y a encore beaucoup à faire pour soutenir les chefs d’entreprise issus des communautés autochtones, noires et de couleur, et pour embaucher des personnes issues de ces communautés (PANDC), car nous comprenons la valeur des perspectives différentes. Nos efforts dans ce sens comprennent la signature de l’engagement BlackNorth, un engagement à l’égard de sept objectifs qui, selon nous, permettra au Canada de mettre fin au racisme systémique envers les Noirs et de créer des occasions pour les groupes sous-représentés. Le Groupe HSBC vise également à doubler, d’ici 2025, le nombre d’employés noirs occupant des postes de direction. Dans le cadre de notre engagement BlackNorth, nous nous sommes également engagés à ce qu’au moins 3,5 % des postes de direction et de conseil d’administration au Canada soient occupés par des leaders noirs d’ici 2025. Lisez notre entrevue avec Mme Spencer :

Parlez-nous de la Black Business and Professional Association et de son histoire.

Cette organisation existe depuis 38 ans. Notre fondateur, Denham Jolly, l’a lancée parce qu’il s’est rendu compte que les entrepreneurs noirs n’avaient pas accès aux ressources dont ils avaient besoin pour réussir dans le milieu des affaires.

Quelle est la mission de l’organisation et comment aide-t-elle les jeunes futurs entrepreneurs noirs en particulier?

La justice est au cœur de notre mission. Notre objectif est de remédier aux injustices et aux disparités dans la disponibilité des ressources et de créer des occasions économiques pour les professionnels et chefs d’entreprise noirs par l’entremise de nos programmes et de nos initiatives éducatives, y compris des bourses pour les étudiants noirs. L’an dernier, 1 547 étudiants noirs ont présenté une demande de bourse, et nous avons pu en soutenir 108.

Mais les 1 400 étudiants noirs qui n’ont reçu aucune bourse ont aussi besoin de soutien. Une partie de la solution réside dans nos programmes axés sur le mentorat et la formation entrepreneuriale, qui procurent aux jeunes entrepreneurs du leadership et des conseils.

Quelle est votre expérience personnelle en matière d’entrepreneuriat?

Je suis devenue entrepreneure à 12 ans. J’étais alors dans une situation très difficile. Ma mère avait déménagé au Canada et m’avait laissée avec une de ses amies en Jamaïque en attendant de s’installer dans sa nouvelle maison. Elle ne s’est pas rendu compte que son amie n’allait pas forcément prendre bien soin de moi. J’ai souvent été retirée de l’école pour aller faire des courses. Lors d’une de ces courses, alors que j’étais à plus de 150 km de la maison, sans argent ni moyen de rentrer, j’ai élaboré un plan d’affaires. Je suis ainsi devenue femme d’affaires à 12 ans!

C’est pourquoi je me passionne pour l’entrepreneuriat. En 2016, j’ai remporté un prix Harry Jerome de la BBPA, l’accomplissement le plus élevé au sein de la communauté noire dans les affaires. Ce prix revient à la jeune fille de 12 ans que j’étais, qui a pris la décision de devenir entrepreneure sans même savoir ce que le mot voulait dire.

Quelle était l’entreprise de cette jeune fille de 12 ans?

À Spanish Town, en Jamaïque, on fabrique de délicieuses galettes, et l’amie de ma mère m’avait demandé d’en acheter. Mais la première fois qu’elle m’a envoyée faire les courses, elle ne m’a pas donné d’argent pour rentrer à la maison.

Je suis arrivée et j’ai rencontré une femme au marché. Je lui ai dit que je reviendrais régulièrement acheter des galettes et que j’aimerais qu’elle m’en vende 10 au prix de 8. J’ai conclu la transaction avec elle, puis j’ai acheté du papier sulfurisé avec l’argent restant. Après avoir enveloppé les galettes dans le papier, je suis allée dans une autre partie du marché et je les ai vendues. J’ai fait un profit et j’ai non seulement pu payer le billet d’autobus pour rentrer à la maison, mais j’ai aussi pu prendre un repas (après avoir racheté des galettes à rapporter à la maison).

J’ai fini par devenir une vraie pro. Chaque semaine, je trouvais de nouvelles façons de vendre plus de galettes.

Chaque femme devrait pouvoir diriger une entreprise. Même si vous n’êtes pas formée, si vous avez un excellent produit, vous pouvez être entrepreneure. Vous pouvez bâtir un avenir et faire une différence pour votre famille et votre collectivité.

Comment le milieu des affaires noir a-t-il été touché par la pandémie de COVID-19 et le racisme systémique mis en évidence par le mouvement Black Lives Matter?

Dans le cadre de la COVID-19, nous avons comparé les entreprises ordinaires avec les entreprises appartenant à des Noirs. Nous avons constaté que de nombreuses entreprises ordinaires avaient des réserves de liquidités d’au moins six mois à la banque, alors que l’entreprise noire moyenne n’avait qu’un mois de liquidités. Pourquoi? Parce que ces entreprises n’ont pas accès au crédit, ou encore aux réseaux et aux ressources clés.

J’ai donc lancé une ligne d’assistance disponible 24 heures sur 24, car ces personnes avaient besoin de conseils. J’ai géré cette ligne moi-même. J’ai répondu à des appels le matin, le midi et le soir, et écouté les entrepreneurs noirs me parler de leurs difficultés. Le problème le plus fréquent que j’ai entendu était que personne ne leur disait où aller, quoi faire et comment obtenir des fonds. Les obstacles créés par le racisme systémique ont empêché ces entrepreneurs d’accéder aux ressources dont ils avaient besoin pour réussir.

Le racisme systémique continue d’être un problème. J’ai des clients qui ne sont pas noirs et qui me disent que la banque les appelle régulièrement pour leur offrir des prêts dans le cadre du programme Compte d’urgence pour les entreprises canadiennes (CUEC), soit des prêts sans intérêt pouvant aller jusqu’à 40 000 $ pour les petites entreprises et organismes sans but lucratif canadiens. Un client m’a même dit : «Je n’ai pas besoin de cet argent. Je ne l’ai pris que pour que la banque arrête de m’appeler.» Mais quand j’ai appelé des entrepreneurs noirs, ils m’ont dit que leur directeur de banque ne les avait pas appelés du tout pour leur parler des prêts au titre du CUEC.

Le mouvement Black Lives Matter a contribué à sensibiliser les gens aux défis auxquels les entreprises noires font face. Nous avons de nouveaux alliés grâce à ce mouvement, y compris des sociétés partenaires comme la HSBC. Je parle régulièrement avec tous nos partenaires, et ces derniers entendent parler directement des défis auxquels les entrepreneurs noirs font face en raison de la couleur de leur peau.

Heureusement, grâce au financement de la HSBC, nous avons pu accéder à des ressources pour aider ces entreprises.

Avis

© Banque HSBC Canada, 2021. Tous droits réservés. Aucune partie du présent document ne peut être reproduite, conservée, distribuée ou transmise sans l’autorisation écrite préalable de la Banque HSBC Canada

Les renseignements fournis ne sont pas nécessairement exhaustifs et ne sauraient être interprétés comme des conseils professionnels de nature financière, juridique, fiscale ou autre. Vous ne devriez pas agir sur la foi de cette information sans avoir obtenu les conseils d’un professionnel. Le présent document a été préparé avec soin, mais la HSBC ne peut garantir, ni s’engager à déclarer (explicitement ou implicitement) que ces renseignements sont exacts et complets. Les renseignements présentés dans ce document peuvent être modifiés sans préavis.

Certains des produits et services proposés par la HSBC, ses filiales et ses sociétés affiliées sont offerts sous réserve d’une approbation de crédit. Ce document ne saurait constituer une offre de fournir les services et les produits qui y sont décrits et la prestation de ces services et produits demeure assujettie au contrat.

«HSBC» est une marque de commerce de HSBC Holdings plc, utilisée par la HSBC et ses sociétés affiliées en vertu d’une licence.

Publié par la Banque HSBC Canada (la «HSBC»).