• Growing my Business
    • Enable Growth

Harness the Power of Empathy

  • Article

How empathetic are you? The soft skill of understanding the thoughts, feelings and needs of others is actually a powerful strategic weapon for business leaders who recognise its place in fostering a happy, healthy and commercially successful company. If you’ve not previously considered the value of empathy as a fundamental business strength, read on…

What is empathy?

Empathy is arguably the most human of traits. And yet it’s not traditionally been seen as an explicit feature of working life, or classed among the professional behaviours we are expected to display in what are often high-pressure, performance-based job roles.

But far from being a skill that is relegated to your personal life, empathy is a vital tool that can have a disproportionately beneficial impact on small and medium-sized businesses. Using empathy at work can ensure your staff are motivated, productive and included in your mission, whether your team works closely, or use a hybrid style with some working from home and others in the office, and where the boss is visibly part of the operation.

Empathy typically takes three forms: (1) a state where you can mirror the feelings of others; (2) a cognitive ability to take the perspective of others; and (3) a supportive concern that triggers a need to help find a solution to their circumstances. They are not mutually exclusive types, and are most likely to be a process you go through when relating to others.

How might it work in a business setting?

For SME leaders, adopting these three stages of empathy can have a significant part to play in your commercial strengths and ability to thrive. It can constructively guide your relationships with colleagues and those who report to you – as well as the way you engage with customers – and it can have a positive impact on your brand values and reputation.

The coronavirus pandemic is a useful context for examining empathy, because the uncertainty and impact on all of us as individuals is a largely shared experience. Businesses have had to deal with unplanned, sometimes drastic change, and the best leaders have been those who have taken time to put their employees’ feelings front and centre, while steering the company through difficult times.

Shola Kaye, a communication and inclusion specialist who works with businesses, is heartened by what she sees happening in companies.

“I'm seeing a lot of interest in empathy as a topic right now, from small organisations, all the way to large enterprises. It’s ideal in helping you plot your customer journey, for example, or figuring out how to be innovative, and coming up with new products and new services for them,” she says.

“On the social side, a lot of businesses are hurting right now – as are a lot of customers.”

So actually being able to understand the position that some of your clients and staff are in, because of all the factors that are going on as a result of COVID can lead to solutions-based thinking, she adds.

“How can we take your perspective? Now, what can we actually create for you that is going to work? It's heartening to see how many businesses now are taking this approach.”

Empathy is in fact a key hallmark of leadership, as it has served many successful professionals well in advancing their career.

Undoubtedly, a boss who makes time for staff to understand their issues, through one-to-one sessions or activities specifically held away from premises, will gain the respect and loyalty of the team in working towards their common goal.

And though there’s a risk that being at the top can detach you too much from your staff and their concerns, SME leaders have the advantage of smaller size and flexibility – and it’s never too late to embed these mindsets more formally into your business.

How do I actively employ empathy in my business?

The most important technique is to listen. Your staff will appreciate you taking an interest in them, so learn to ask questions, remembering to acknowledge what they’ve said and how they respond to you. Be patient enough not to jump in with a solution too quickly, as they can feel ignored as a result.

Bad listeners typically do one of three things: they quickly turn attention onto themselves; they pretend to listen but are easily distracted; or they take a passively critical tone and butt in only to correct or contradict you. Even if you fit one of these types, the good news is that you can still learn to listen well.

Our professional lives are very time-poor, but it’s vital for you to set aside time for staff such as an ‘open-door hour’ once a week. That way, they will appreciate that chance to come and air any concerns. With luck, it will also help diffuse any sensitive issues that could get complicated if left to fester.

Courage is also a real strength in demonstrating empathy as leaders, according to Shola. “Quite often, people are aware that their conversations aren’t going to be easy. They may be scared they are revealing things that might put them at risk – whether it’s the way that they feel about colleagues or about processes they think aren’t working. So it requires some vulnerability to get that conversation going.

“To initiate an empathic conversation, it helps when the leader or manager is prepared to share first - to open themselves up to the other person. For a boss to listen and be open-minded certainly requires a degree of vulnerability”.

Can I make empathy a formal brand value?

Yes, and it is highly encouraged – not only because it fosters goodwill among your employees, but it’s a skill that can be particularly valuable in your customer engagement.

Internally, it helps you address complex or difficult discussions as colleagues should understand that they can engage with you and having transparency via a two-way conversation is key. Meetings, too, should follow a similarly authentic approach that considers the needs of introverts as much as extroverts.

In a client-facing context, business can be won through the tactic of improvising your dialogue more naturally with customers. They will appreciate the time offered by you to discuss their situation. Sticking too rigidly to a sales script can create a ‘computer says no’ ambience that can turn off customers and potentially lose you business. After all, who doesn’t want their team to be known as problem-solvers who care?

In short, most people can be empathetic. There’s a subconscious need to help others that can be fostered among your staff, too. The trick is to slow down enough to listen. Your business will thank you for it.

• Croissance de mon entreprise
    • Favoriser la croissance

Tirer parti du pouvoir de l’empathie

  • Article

Savez-vous faire preuve d’empathie? L’habileté subtile à comprendre les idées, les sentiments et les besoins des autres est en fait une arme stratégique puissante pour les chefs d’entreprise, qui reconnaissent son utilité à favoriser le mieux-être, la santé et la prospérité dans l’entreprise. Si vous n’avez jamais considéré l’empathie comme une force fondamentale de votre entreprise, lisez la suite…

Qu’est-ce que l’empathie?

Sans doute le trait de caractère le plus humain, l’empathie n’est pourtant pas considérée explicitement comme une habileté professionnelle ni classée parmi les comportements que nous sommes censés afficher dans des postes qui exigent souvent du rendement.

Mais, loin d’être une compétence reléguée à la vie personnelle, l’empathie est un outil essentiel qui peut avoir un effet particulièrement bénéfique dans les petites et moyennes entreprises. L’empathie soutient la motivation et la productivité des employés et leur adhésion à votre mission, peu importe que l’équipe collabore étroitement ou adopte une formule hybride entre le travail à la maison et au bureau, sans pour autant que disparaisse le patron.

L’empathie prend habituellement trois formes : (1) un état dans lequel vous pouvez éprouver les sentiments des autres; (2) une capacité cognitive à adopter le point de vue des autres; et (3) une bienveillance qui suscite le besoin d’aider les autres à trouver une solution. Une forme n’exclut pas l’autre; elles se déploient probablement dans un processus d’interaction entre elles.

Comment l’empathie peut-elle s’installer en entreprise?

Pour les chefs de PME, les trois étapes de l’empathie peuvent jouer un rôle important dans les forces commerciales et la capacité à prospérer. L’empathie peut orienter de façon constructive les relations avec vos collègues et vos subordonnés et vos interactions avec les clients, en plus de rehausser les valeurs et la réputation de votre marque.

Contexte utile à l’examen de l’empathie, la pandémie de coronavirus constitue une expérience dont nous partageons largement l’incertitude et les conséquences personnelles. Les entreprises ont dû composer avec les imprévus et parfois les bouleversements, mais les vrais chefs de file sont ceux qui se sont souciés de leurs employés, tout en guidant l’entreprise en période difficile.

Shola Kaye, une spécialiste des communications et de l’inclusion, est encouragée par ce qu’elle voit dans les entreprises.

«L’empathie suscite beaucoup d’intérêt en ce moment, tant dans les petites que les grandes entreprises. C’est l’idéal pour vous aider à planifier votre parcours client, par exemple, ou pour trouver des façons d’innover et de proposer de nouveaux produits et services», explique-t-elle.

«Sur le plan social, beaucoup d’entreprises en arrachent en ce moment, comme bien des clients.»

Par conséquent, être en mesure de comprendre la situation dans laquelle se trouvent certains de vos clients et employés, en raison de tous les facteurs qui découlent de la COVID-19, peut déboucher sur des solutions, ajoute-t-elle.

«Comment pouvons-nous comprendre votre point de vue? Que pouvons-nous vous proposer qui va fonctionner? Il est encourageant de voir le nombre d’entreprises qui adoptent cette approche.»

Caractéristique clé du leadership, l’empathie a bien servi nombre de professionnels dans leur progression de carrière.

Il ne fait aucun doute qu’un patron qui prend le temps d’écouter les employés en rencontre individuelle ou au cours d’activités externes méritera le respect et la fidélité de l’équipe en vue d’atteindre l’objectif commun.

Et, même si le fait d’être au sommet de la pyramide risque d’éloigner les dirigeants des employés et de leurs préoccupations, les PME ont l’avantage d’être plus petites et plus souples – il n’est jamais trop tard pour inculquer ces attitudes de façon plus formelle dans l’entreprise.

Comment faire preuve d’empathie dans mon entreprise?

La technique la plus importante consiste à écouter. Vos employés apprécieront votre intérêt. Apprenez à leur poser des questions en prenant acte de leurs propos et de leur réaction. Soyez assez patient pour ne pas proposer en hâte une solution; ce qui pourrait être vu comme une façon de les ignorer.

Ceux qui ne savent pas écouter font habituellement trois choses : ils ramènent rapidement l’attention sur eux, ils font semblant d’écouter, mais sont facilement distraits ou ils adoptent un ton négatif en se contentant de vous corriger ou de vous contredire. Même si vous appartenez à l’une de ces catégories, heureusement, vous pouvez quand même apprendre à écouter.

Dans notre vie professionnelle, nous manquons de temps, mais il est essentiel d’en consacrer aux employés, p. ex., une heure de porte ouverte une fois par semaine. Ils vous seront reconnaissants de pouvoir s’exprimer. Avec un peu chance, vous pourrez aussi désamorcer les problèmes délicats qui risquent d’empirer devant l’inaction.

Le courage est aussi une force réelle qui favorise l’empathie chez les leaders, selon Shola. «Bien souvent, les gens savent que la conversation ne sera pas facile. Ils ont peut-être peur de révéler des choses qui pourraient les exposer, qu’il s’agisse de leurs opinions à l’égard des collègues ou des processus qui ne fonctionnent pas, selon eux. Il faut donc être vulnérable pour amorcer la conversation.

«Pour faire preuve d’empathie en engageant la conversation, le leader ou le gestionnaire doit d’abord être prêt à s’ouvrir à l’autre. Pour qu’un patron écoute et fasse preuve d’ouverture d’esprit, il doit être vulnérable.»

Puis-je faire de l’empathie une valeur officielle de la marque?

Oui, et nous vous encourageons fortement à le faire, non seulement pour soutenir la bonne volonté de vos employés, mais aussi parce que cette attitude peut être très précieuse en matière d’engagement client.

À l’interne, vous pourrez aborder des discussions complexes ou difficiles, car les collègues comprendront qu’ils peuvent échanger avec vous; il est essentiel d’engager un dialogue transparent. Les réunions doivent être tout aussi sincères et tenir compte des besoins des introvertis autant que des extravertis.

Dans un contexte d’interaction directe avec les clients, il est possible de gagner leur confiance en discutant de façon plus naturelle. Ils apprécieront le temps consacré pour discuter de leur situation. S’en tenir à un scénario de vente trop rigide du type «l’ordinateur refuse...» peut rebuter les clients et les faire fuir. Après tout, une équipe veut être reconnue pour sa capacité à régler les problèmes avec empathie, non?

Bref, la plupart des gens peuvent faire preuve d’empathie. Ce besoin instinctif d’aider les autres peut aussi être encouragé au sein de votre personnel. Mais, il faut savoir ralentir suffisamment pour écouter. L’entreprise vous en remerciera.