Discover how Canadian businesses are embracing sustainability

Read more about some of our clients’ success stories, and how we helped them on their transition journey, to see some of the ways we can help your business grow sustainably.

Lion Electric: A business plan to electrify transportation

How is Lion Electric revolutionizing the transport (school bus) industry to help create a more sustainable future for Canadians? Find out what you don’t know about a business plan that is working to improve our society by electrifying transport.

Concert Properties: Helping to build a sustainable future

Concert Properties President and CEO Brian McCauley, along with VP of Innovation and Sustainability Dave Ramslie, are leading the company’s sustainability strategy to build residential and commercial developments that create healthy and vibrant communities. Concert’s latest project, Tapestry at Victoria Harbour, is a seniors living community that is setting the bar for sustainability performance – and it’s being financed through an HSBC Green Loan, the first of its kind in Canada.

In Conversation With Brian McCauley of Concert Properties

Concert Properties CEO Brian McCauley talks with Kristy Todd Millar, Director of Commercial Real Estate at HSBC, about why sustainability is a business imperative, the importance of organizational resilience, and how Concert qualified for Canada’s first Green Loan.

Clients from around the world

Meridiam

The socio-economic impact of sustainability cannot be ignored. Meridiam is a mission-based investment company developing, financing and managing transformation projects that develop skills, create jobs and grow the economy. Right now, Meridiam is helping to turn forest biomass into green fuel that will replace coal.

Smart? You bet. That's the reason our sustainability team are lending their support.

Phenix

Tackling world hunger

Every year a third of the world's food goes to waste. That's enough to feed the combined populations of China and the USA. Too big a problem to solve?

Not for Parisian innovators Phenix, who've developed an app that gives unsold food a second life. In creating a circular economy Phenix is bringing us closer to a world without waste, and we consider it a privilege to be helping this smart tech solution expand into new continents.

ChargePoint, shaping the future of mobility

ChargePoint leverages HSBC’s international experience to expand its electric vehicle charging network in Europe.

A US-Canadian green loan highlights the significance of private equity on the road to net zero

Last year US-based private equity firm Frontenac selected HSBC to finance its acquisition of Newterra, a provider of water and wastewater treatment solutions. In doing so, Frontenac became the first firm to receive a private equity loan in Canada under Green Loan Principles1 that require loan proceeds to be allocated to sustainable projects.

Podcasts

In the midst of this unprecedented economic environment, many businesses are thriving. How are they doing it?

Tune into HSBC Talks Business, a global podcast series that explores the challenges companies around the world are facing, and the innovative ways that banking solutions are helping them succeed. We speak with business leaders from small to mid-size companies, along with HSBC experts, to understand topics like sustainability, cash management, supply chain optimization and more.

What you don’t know: Transportation manufacturer Lion Electric

Hear Angie Hall, Head of Sustainable Finance, Commercial Banking at HSBC Bank Canada, and Marc Bédard, CEO and Founder of Lion Electric discuss the unique financing and banking needs of Lion Electric, and how HSBC is helping them achieve their goals.

spotify-img

apple-podcast-img

Frontenac: A business plan for sustainable finance

Join Angie Hall, Head of Sustainable Finance, Commercial Banking at HSBC Bank Canada, for a conversation with Ronald Kuehl, Managing Director at Frontenac. Learn how Frontenac is expanding its sustainable footprint, using more green financing across its asset portfolio and the role HSBC played in supporting this.

spotify-img

apple-podcast-img

Turning ESG commitments into actions

Listen to Kelly Fisher, Head of US Corporate Sustainability, talk to two of our clients’ sustainability leaders from Mercon Group and Atlas Corp (Parent company of Seaspan) about their ESG strategies in their industries, what’s driving their approach and what the benefits are for their stakeholders.

spotify-img

apple-podcast-img

Energy Systems of the Future

Join Kim Hallwood, Head of Corporate Sustainability for HSBC Bank Canada for a conversation with Zoe Knight, Global Head, Centre of Sustainable Finance with HSBC Bank plc. Zoe shares her global insights and perspectives on the emerging trends, evolution and transformation in energy and solutions for a net zero future.

spotify-img

apple-podcast-img

Find out more

Sustainability is about safeguarding the long-term health of the environment and ensuring a thriving, resilient future for your business and wider society.

If you're just starting out on your journey, our guide can help you understand the benefits and how you can effectively introduce more sustainable practices to your business.

The transition to net zero is the collective responsibility of businesses of all shapes and sizes. For many it will present significant challenges, but with that comes opportunity, and the possibility of developing new business models and driving efficiencies.

Whatever your business sustainability principles and goals might be, access the latest thought leadership content and practical advice to help you prepare for a greener future.

With our suite of sustainable finance products and our dedicated teams of relationship managers to support, we can help you on your journey.

Need help?

Get in touch to learn more about our banking solutions and how we can help you drive your business forward.

Découvrez comment les entreprises canadiennes se tournent vers le développement durable

Découvrez les succès de certains de nos clients et voyez comment nous les avons aidés à faire la transition. Ces exemples vous montreront comment nous pouvons aider votre entreprise à croître de façon durable.

Ce que vous ignorez sur le succès des entreprises canadiennes : Next Hydrogen et la HSBC

Découvrez Next Hydrogen, une jeune entreprise canadienne du secteur du renouvelable devenue leader mondial du développement durable.

Ce que vous ignorez sur le succès des entreprises canadiennes : Lynnwood Roofing et la HSBC

Lynnwood Roofing, une firme spécialisée dans l'installation et la réparation de toits, s'efforce de changer... un panneau solaire à la fois.

Lion Electric : Un plan d’affaires afin d’électrifier les transports

Comment l’entreprise Lion Électrique est-elle en train de révolutionner l’industrie du transport scolaire afin d’aider à créer un avenir durable pour les Canadiens? Découvrez ce que vous ignorez de son plan d’affaires qui vise à améliorer notre société en passant par l’électrification des transports.

A US-Canadian green loan highlights the significance of private equity on the road to net zero

L’an dernier, la société de capital-investissement américaine Frontenac a choisi la HSBC pour financer son acquisition de Newterra, un fournisseur de solutions de traitement des eaux et des eaux usées. Frontenac est ainsi devenue la première société de capital-investissement à recevoir un prêt au Canada en vertu des principes relatifs aux prêts verts, qui exigent que le produit du prêt soit affecté à des projets durables.

Concert Properties : aider à bâtir un avenir durable

Brian McCauley, président et chef de la direction de Concert Properties, et Dave Ramslie, vice-président, Innovation et développement durable de l’entreprise, dirigent sa stratégie en matière de développement durable en misant sur des projets immobiliers résidentiels et commerciaux qui contribuent à la vigueur et au dynamisme des collectivités. Le plus récent projet de Concert, Tapestry at Victoria Harbour, financé par un prêt vert de la HSBC, premier du genre au Canada, est un complexe résidentiel pour retraités qui fixe la barre en matière de développement durable.

Comment un prêt vert peut-il aider à reconstruire les forêts de l’Amérique du Nord?

Découvrez comment le financement vert de la HSBC aide PRT, producteur de semis, à franchir une nouvelle étape dans sa croissance.

Conversation avec Brian McCauley, chef de la direction de Concert Properties

Brian McCauley, chef de la direction de Concert Properties, et Kristy Todd Millar, directrice, immobilier commercial à la HSBC, expliquent pourquoi le développement durable est un impératif d’affaires et discutent de l’importance de la résilience organisationnelle et des raisons pour lesquelles Concert a obtenu le premier prêt vert canadien.

Baladodiffusions

Dans une conjoncture économique sans précédent, de nombreuses entreprises sont florissantes. Comment réussissent-elles?

Découvrez notre série mondiale de baladodiffusions HSBC Talks Business, qui explore les défis que les entreprises du monde entier doivent relever et les façons novatrices dont les solutions bancaires les aident à réussir. Nous discutons avec des dirigeants de PME et des experts de la HSBC de sujets comme le développement durable, la gestion de trésorerie, l’optimisation de la chaîne d’approvisionnement et bien d’autres encore.

Ce que vous ignorez sur l’entreprise de transport électrique Lion Électrique

Angie Hall, responsable en chef du financement lié au développement durable à la HSBC au Canada et Marc Bédard, chef de la direction et fondateur de Lion Électrique discutent des besoins uniques de Lion Électrique et du soutien de la HSBC.

spotify-img

apple-podcast-img

Télécharger la transcription

Frontenac : un plan d’affaires pour le financement durable

Écoutez la conversation entre Angie Hall, responsable en chef du financement durable, services aux entreprises à la Banque HSBC Canada et Ronald Kuehl, directeur général de Frontenac. Découvrez comment Frontenac étend son empreinte durable en utilisant davantage de financement vert dans son portefeuille d’actifs et le rôle que la HSBC a joué à cet égard.

spotify-img

apple-podcast-img

Mettre en œuvre les engagements ESG

Dans une entrevue menée par Kelly Fisher, responsable en chef du service du développement durable aux États-Unis, deux de nos clients qui sont des chefs de file du développement durable, Mercon Group et Atlas Corp (société mère de Seaspan) nous parlent des stratégies ESG dans leur secteur, de ce qui motive leur approche et des avantages pour les intervenants.

spotify-img

apple-podcast-img

Les systèmes énergétiques de demain

Écoutez la conversation entre Kim Hallwood, responsable en chef du développement durable, Banque HSBC Canada, et Zoe Knight, responsable en chef internationale, Centre de financement durable, HSBC Bank plc. Mme Knight y livre sa pensée sur les tendances émergentes dans le secteur de l’énergie et les solutions pour un avenir à zéro émission nette, de même que sur l’évolution et la transformation de ce secteur et de ces solutions.

spotify-img

apple-podcast-img

En savoir plus

Une façon durable de faire des affaires

Le développement durable consiste à protéger la santé à long terme de l’environnement et à assurer un avenir prospère et résilient pour votre entreprise et la société en général.

Par où commencer

Si vous n’êtes encore qu’au point de départ, notre guide peut vous aider à comprendre les avantages et les stratégies qui peuvent vous permettre d’adopter plus facilement des pratiques plus durables au sein de votre entreprise.

Transition vers zéro émission nette

La transition vers une économie à zéro émission nette est la responsabilité collective des entreprises, quelle que soit leur taille. Pour bon nombre d’entre elles, il y aura des défis importants, mais aussi des occasions à saisir et la possibilité d’élaborer de nouveaux modèles d’affaires et de réaliser des gains d’efficacité.

Info

Quels que soient les principes et les objectifs de votre entreprise en matière de développement durable, accédez au contenu le plus récent sur le leadership éclairé et obtenez des conseils pratiques pour vous préparer à un avenir plus écologique.

Services et produits

Avec notre gamme de produits de financement durable et nos équipes attitrées de gestionnaires de relations bancaires, nous sommes là pour vous accompagner tout au long de votre parcours.

Besoin d'aide?

Vous avez des questions? Vous êtes prêt à commencer? Demander qu'on vous rappelle