Building a healthier and more resilient sustainable future

Back to Success in the face of change

The global economy is showing positive signs that our future is a green one. But even as companies worldwide shift to eco-friendly operations and new technology paves the way for a cleaner environment, current emission levels have rebounded from the dip in 2020, proving we still have work to do.

The goal: Limit global warming to well below 2 degrees Celsius, preferably to 1.5C, compared to pre-industrial levels, as outlined in the Paris Agreement. Canada’s greenhouse gas reduction target is to reduce emissions by at least 40% by 2030 and to net zero by 2050.

HSBC recently held a roundtable with industry leaders to discuss how to reach this global objective. HSBC’s Christian Deseglise, Head of Sustainable Finance and Investments, Global Banking and Markets, underscored that it won’t be easy and will require a fundamental transformation of the global economy.

“2050 seems pretty far away, but 2030 really is tomorrow,” he said. “If we want to meet that target, I think we have a monumental task ahead of us to move the economy onto a net zero emissions trajectory.”

By going green, businesses can work towards the goal of cutting emissions by over 7% each year between 2020 and 2030, equivalent to last year’s pandemic-fueled drop. With more than 125 countries dedicated to net zero by 2050, there’s now a clear commitment to move forward, along with encouraging developments in green technology, sustainable infrastructure and banks like HSBC leading the way.

The pandemic has prompted us to contemplate how to build back better. Currently, about 70% of global emissions come from buildings and infrastructure assets. That means building sustainable and resilient infrastructure is a crucial step in reducing emissions and meeting the United Nations’ sustainable development goals (SDGs).

“Infrastructure plays a really critical role in so many aspects, not only for economic growth and people’s lives, but also SDG and climate change agendas,” said Jason Lu, Head of the Global Infrastructure Facility in Washington, D.C. “It’s the growth engine of many developed and national economies, helps create jobs, and is directly linked to the quality of life for all of us, and critical for building back better and greener.”

Sustainable infrastructure is key, but it does come with a hefty price tag. According to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), an annual investment of US$6.9 trillion in infrastructure is needed to meet global development needs through 2030. In order to help fund green infrastructure in developing countries, HSBC has developed a public-private partnership called FAST-Infra alongside the International Finance Corporation (IFC), the OECD, the Global Infrastructure Facility and the Climate Policy Initiative. Recognizing that multilateral development banks can’t go it alone, FAST-Infra aims to raise the flow of private finance to developing world sustainable infrastructure by creating a sustainable infrastructure label and undertaking targeted financial interventions.

The 5G network is a new player in the game, and the backbone for a lot of smart technology. According to the UN, the information and communications technology (ICT) sector could help slash emissions by 20% by 2030i — the equivalent of taking more than 291 million cars off the road in the United Statesii. Many companies are starting to see what 5G has to offer. And 5G stations don’t require nearly as much energy as 4G towers, where half of the electricity consumed goes toward cooling transmission equipmentiii.

The 5G network also enables the use of affordable sensors to examine water safety and levels. This could revolutionize the agriculture sector since farmers currently use outdated irrigation systems that waste water and contribute to climate change. In cities, 5G could also manage traffic so cars spend less time idling on the road. In the workplace, 5G can be a catalyst for greater digitalization, which means less reliance on materials like paper products that can create substantial waste in production, and too often ends up in landfills instead of recycling facilities.

Technology, in fact, could be key to achieving net zero emissions, according to Tyler Hamilton, Director of Cleantech for MaRS Discovery District in Toronto, Ont.

“Technology, in my view, is a big part of the answer. There are three things we need to do — optimize, electrify and decarbonize,” said Hamilton.

Optimization could involve using software and Artificial Intelligence to crunch data and come up with ways to operate businesses and industry more efficiently. Electrification means using electricity instead of fossil fuels for transportation, heating and industrial processes, and decarbonizing is achieved by ensuring that all of that electricity is renewable and clean.

A significant barrier, Hamilton says, is the red tape faced by companies that already have something to offer, including clean commercial products outside of wind and solar, but are being ignored.

“They’re written off as ‘futuristic innovations’ when in fact they’ve already gone through that path to commercialization and have existed for more than a decade,” said Hamilton. “What they need is access to capital, progressive policies, and enabling regulations.”

Natural capital is also one of the best-kept secrets and is right in our own backyards.

Soil, water and trees fight climate change on their own as long as they’re protected. Dr. Yasmina Elshafei, Executive Director of Pollination in London, England, argues there’s a failure to recognize the intrinsic value of preserving and restoring natural infrastructure to fight climate change. Coastal wetlands, forests and oceans are immediately deployable tools that can achieve carbon removal at a much lower cost than technological solutions.

Aside from protecting the environment, natural capital investment is becoming an important asset thematic in its own right, Dr. Elshafei said. Beyond addressing the climate challenge, such investment delivers multiple co-benefits — including improving biodiversity and contributing to humanity at large — by directing capital flows to creating more sustainable livelihoods. Empowering communities in forest-rich countries, protecting fisheries and generating eco-tourism revenue in local communities can help achieve these aims.

“We’re seeing a number of Fortune 500 companies making significant commitments and active pledges towards nature-based investment. I think there is a general acceptance among the global community that this asset class is going to be critical in the path to reaching net zero,” she said.

Major companies worldwide, including Google and Facebook, are throwing their weight behind green infrastructure like solar and wind. As sustainability gains steam, customers have come to expect eco-friendly commitments from business leaders.

HSBC is looking at working with more corporations to take on new eco-friendly projects. The bank is working alongside the IFC and the OECD to create a common definition of green infrastructure that would serve emerging countries and stimulate private investment capital. Alongside green financing options, HSBC’s Fast Track program helps clients assess emerging market risks and confidence to expand business internationally — something that’s essential as the world recovers from the pandemic and we work toward a more sustainable future.

Contact HSBC to find out more about how your business can support a net zero future.

How to protect your business while growing internationally

Explore the risks and complexities of international trading – and how to combat them

Discover strategies for working with internal stakeholders to protect your business from risk and help it thrive

Sign up for insights

Step 1 of 2

Need help?

Get in touch to learn more about our banking solutions and how we can help you drive your business forward.

Building a healthier and more resilient sustainable future

Retourner au Réussir face au changement

Au sein de l’économie mondiale, des signes encourageants nous promettent un avenir vert. Toutefois, même si les entreprises du monde entier font la transition vers une exploitation écologique et que les nouvelles technologies ouvrent la voie à un environnement plus propre, les niveaux d’émissions actuels ont rebondi après avoir atteint un creux de 2020, ce qui prouve que nous avons encore du travail à faire.

L’objectif : limiter le réchauffement planétaire à bien moins de 2 degrés Celsius, de préférence à 1,5 °C, par rapport aux niveaux préindustriels, comme indiqué dans l’Accord de Paris. Le Canada vise à réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre d’au moins 40 % d’ici 2030 et à atteindre la carboneutralité d’ici 2050.

La HSBC a récemment tenu une table ronde avec des chefs de file du secteur pour discuter de la façon de réaliser cet objectif mondial. Christian Déséglise, responsable en chef du financement et des investissements durables des services bancaires internationaux et marchés de la HSBC, a souligné que ce ne serait pas facile et qu’une transformation fondamentale de l’économie mondiale serait nécessaire.

«L’année 2050 semble très éloignée, mais 2030, c’est vraiment demain», a-t-il dit. «Si nous voulons atteindre cet objectif, je pense que nous avons une tâche colossale à accomplir pour mettre l’économie sur une trajectoire menant à la carboneutralité.»

En adoptant le virage vert, les entreprises peuvent contribuer à l’objectif de réduire les émissions de plus de 7 % par année entre 2020 et 2030, pourcentage qui équivaut à la baisse de l’an dernier attribuable à la pandémie. Plus de 125 pays ayant résolu d’atteindre la carboneutralité d’ici 2050, il existe maintenant un engagement clair à aller de l’avant ainsi que des progrès encourageants dans les technologies vertes et les infrastructures durables, et des banques comme la HSBC montrent le chemin à suivre.

La pandémie nous a amenés à réfléchir à la façon de reconstruire en mieux. Actuellement, environ 70 % des émissions mondiales proviennent des bâtiments et des infrastructures. Ainsi, la construction d’infrastructures robustes et durables est une mesure cruciale pour réduire les émissions et atteindre les objectifs de développement durable (ODD) des Nations Unies.

«Les infrastructures jouent un rôle essentiel à beaucoup d’égards, non seulement pour la croissance économique et la vie des gens, mais aussi pour les ODD et les programmes de lutte contre les changements climatiques», a déclaré Jason Lu, chef de la Global Infrastructure Facility à Washington, D.C. «Elles sont le moteur de croissance de nombreuses économies nationales et développées, elles aident à créer des emplois et ont un lien direct avec la qualité de vie de chacun d’entre nous, et il est crucial de les reconstruire en mieux et de façon plus écologique.»

Les infrastructures durables sont essentielles, mais elles coûtent cher. Selon l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE), un investissement annuel de 6 900 milliards de dollars américains dans les infrastructures est nécessaire pour répondre aux besoins de développement mondial jusqu’en 2030. Afin d’aider à financer les infrastructures vertes dans les pays en développement, la HSBC a établi un partenariat public-privé appelé FAST-Infra avec la Société financière internationale (SFI), l’OCDE, la Global Infrastructure Facility et la Climate Policy Initiative. Reconnaissant que les banques multilatérales de développement ne peuvent pas faire cavalier seul, FAST-Infra vise à accroître le flux de financement privé vers les infrastructures durables du monde en développement en créant un label d’infrastructures durables et en effectuant des interventions financières ciblées.

Nouveau venu dans le domaine, le réseau 5G est la dorsale de nombreuses technologies intelligentes. Selon l’ONU, le secteur des technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC) pourrait aider à réduire les émissions de 20 % d’ici 2030,i ce qui équivaudrait à retirer plus de 291 millions de voitures de la circulation aux États-Unisii. Beaucoup d’entreprises sont en train de découvrir de ce que la 5G a à offrir. De plus,les stations 5G n’ont pas besoin d’autant d’énergie que les tours 4G, où la moitié de l’électricité consommée sert au refroidissement de l’équipement de transmissioniii.

Le réseau 5G permet aussi d’utiliser des capteurs abordables pour vérifier la sécurité de l’alimentation en eau et le niveau de l’eau. Cela pourrait révolutionner le secteur agricole, car les agriculteurs utilisent actuellement des systèmes d’irrigation dépassés qui gaspillent l’eau et contribuent aux changements climatiques. Dans les villes, la technologie 5G pourrait également gérer la circulation afin que les voitures passent moins de temps à tourner au ralenti sur la route. Dans le milieu de travail, la technologie 5G peut stimuler la numérisation et réduire ainsi le recours à des matières comme les produits de papier, qui peuvent faire beaucoup de déchets et qui aboutissent trop souvent dans des sites d’enfouissement au lieu d’installations de recyclage.

Selon Tyler Hamilton, directeur de Cleantech à MaRS Discovery District à Toronto (Ontario), la technologie pourrait en fait être la clé de la réalisation de la carboneutralité.

«À mon avis, la technologie est un élément important de la réponse. Il y a trois choses que nous devons faire : optimiser, électrifier et décarboniser», affirme M. Hamilton.

L’optimisation pourrait consister à utiliser des logiciels et l’intelligence artificielle pour traiter des données et trouver des moyens d’exploiter les entreprises et le secteur plus efficacement. L’électrification est la substitution de l’électricité aux combustibles fossiles dans le transport, le chauffage et les procédés industriels, tandis que la décarbonisation implique de s’assurer que l’électricité est renouvelable et propre.

Un obstacle important, selon Hamilton, est la paperasserie à laquelle se heurtent les entreprises qui ont déjà quelque chose à offrir, notamment des produits commerciaux, autres que l’énergie éolienne et solaire, qui sont propres, mais ignorés.

«On les exclut parce qu’on les considère comme des ‘innovations futuristes’, alors qu’ils ont déjà franchi les étapes menant à la commercialisation et qu’ils sont disponibles depuis plus d’une décennie», déclare Hamilton. «Ce dont ils ont besoin, c’est de capital, de politiques progressives et d’une réglementation habilitante.»

Le capital naturel est aussi l’un des secrets les mieux gardés et il se trouve tout près de chez nous.

Les sols, l’eau et les arbres combattent d’eux-mêmes les changements climatiques, à condition d’être protégés. Yasmina Elshafei, directrice générale de Pollination à Londres, soutient qu’on ne reconnaît pas la valeur intrinsèque de la préservation et de la restauration des infrastructures naturelles pour lutter contre les changements climatiques. Les zones humides côtières, les forêts et les océans sont des moyens exploitables immédiatement qui peuvent éliminer le carbone à un coût beaucoup moins élevé que les solutions technologiques.

En plus de protéger l’environnement, l’investissement dans le capital naturel est en train de devenir une thématique importante des actifs en soi, selon Mme Elshafei. En plus de s’attaquer au défi climatique, ces investissements procurent plusieurs avantages connexes, notamment le renforcement de la biodiversité et leur contribution à l’humanité en général, en orientant les flux de capitaux vers la création de moyens de subsistance plus durables. L’autonomisation de la population dans les pays riches en forêts, la protection des pêches et la production de revenus liés à l’écotourisme dans les collectivités locales peuvent contribuer à la réalisation de ces objectifs.

«Un certain nombre d’entreprises figurant au palmarès Fortune 500 prennent des résolutions importantes et s’engagent fermement à effectuer des investissements fondés sur la nature. Je pense que la communauté mondiale reconnaît généralement que cette catégorie d’actif sera essentielle pour atteindre la carboneutralité», a-t-elle déclaré.

De grandes entreprises partout dans le monde, dont Google et Facebook, usent de leur influence pour soutenir les infrastructures vertes comme l’énergie solaire et éolienne. Devant l’essor du développement durable, les clients en sont venus à escompter des engagements écologiques de la part des chefs d’entreprise.

La HSBC cherche à s’associer avec plus d’entreprises pour entreprendre de nouveaux projets écologiques. La Banque collabore avec la SFI et l’OCDE afin d’établir une définition commune des infrastructures vertes qui servirait les pays émergents et stimulerait le capital d’investissement privé. En plus des options de financement vert, le programme Fast Track de la HSBC aide les clients à évaluer les risques liés aux marchés émergents et la confiance à leur égard afin de stimuler les affaires à l’échelle internationale, élément qui est essentiel au moment où le monde se remet de la pandémie et s’efforce de créer un avenir plus durable.

Communiquez avec la HSBC afin d’en savoir plus sur la façon dont votre entreprise peut contribuer à un avenir à zéro émission nette.

Comment protéger votre entreprise tout en assurant sa croissance à l’échelle internationale?

Explorez les risques et les complexités du commerce international et la façon de les combattre

Découvrez des stratégies pour travailler avec vos intervenants internes afin de protéger votre entreprise contre les risques et de l’aider à prospérer

Inscrivez-vous afin d’obtenir des renseignements

Step 1 of 2

Besoin d'aide?

Vous avez des questions? Vous êtes prêt à commencer? Demander qu'on vous rappelle