Innovation Capabilities

To become globally competitive, a firm must be able to differentiate itself from the competition. And at the heart of differentiation is innovation – the ability to create new or improved products and processes that lead to superior value for customers.

How innovative companies are different

Innovative companies are, by definition, always changing. They never stand still and regularly look for new ways to tackle the challenges their customers face.

For instance, H2O Innovation, a Quebec City-based company included in The Conference Board of Canada report, has established a name for itself internationally by providing unique water and wastewater treatment solutions. While it has developed a number of proprietary technologies – such as a remote monitoring system for wastewater systems—H2O Innovation customizes every project to create the exact solution that will meet its customer's needs by relying on the company's multidisciplinary team of scientists and engineers.

Another example is Toronto-based Symbility Solutions, which provides easy-to-use technology solutions for processing insurance claims. As mobile and cloud technologies have evolved, Symbility has refined its solutions to allow insurance professionals to work on the go, increasing demand for its products around the world. Symbility took note, particularly, of increased smartphone adoption in developing regions such as Africa, Asia and the Middle East, where almost 70 percent of the global population will be using mobile phones by 2017, according to an eMarketer study.

How to become innovative

Company leaders must understand what innovation looks like and the steps they can take to get there. The Conference Board of Canada report says research has shown four dimensions of innovation are linked with success in global markets:

  1. Developing new and improved products: Introducing new products or improving existing ones allows companies to differentiate themselves from global rivals. Product innovations should be tailored to meet a specific customer need.
  2. Investing in research and development: Research and Development investment is fundamental to the development of new and improved products. For instance, Canadian software companies that are successful globally dedicate up to 50 percent of their workforce to product development.
  3. Adopting and creating new technologies: A firm's technological competence is closely related to its ability to succeed in the global marketplace. That technological competence may include employing engineers and scientists, monitoring new technology development and making use of advanced technologies.
  4. Being open to innovation in pricing and sales methods: Some firms, especially those selling products that are not easily differentiated, can accomplish global success by rethinking their sales methods. For instance, Conifex Timber developed an in-house sales and distribution division, to allow mid-tier Asian buyers to bypass wholesale markups and purchase directly from the producer.

Customers' needs are constantly changing, and the firms that are evolving to meet those needs with cutting-edge solutions will come out on top.

Like Symbility and H2O Innovation, Canadian companies can compete in the global market. And a commitment to innovation – along with resources committed to ongoing research and development – can help immensely.

A trusted global business advisor can support your company innovative approach to serving international customers. With Relationship Managers in more than 60 countries and 150 years of experience helping international businesses succeed, HSBC has the knowledge and experience required to help your company sharpen its innovation quotient and build international success.

To learn more about what it takes to compete internationally, download Selling to the World.

*Published in June 2015.

Source: Selling to the World: The Keys to International Business Success, June 2015

Four Keys to International Business Success

Customer Stories

Disclaimer

The information presented is not meant to be comprehensive and does not constitute financial, legal, tax or other professional advice. You should not act upon the information contained in this document without first obtaining specific professional advice. While reasonable care has been taken in preparing this document, HSBC does not make any guarantee, representation or warranty (express or implied) as to its accuracy or completeness. The information presented in this document is subject to change without notice.

Certain of the products and services offered by HSBC and its subsidiaries and affiliates are subject to credit adjudication and approval. This document does not constitute an offer to provide the services and products described and the provision of such services and products remains subject to contract.

HSBCnet services are provided in Canada by HSBC Bank Canada. HSBCnet features and functionality vary by country. Subject to Canadian sanction regulations.

Issued by HSBC Bank Canada ("HSBC")
© Copyright HSBC Bank Canada 2017. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC CMB website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

L’innovation

Pour se tailler une place sur la scène mondiale, les entreprises doivent se différencier de leurs concurrents. Cette différenciation repose essentiellement sur l’innovation, soit la capacité de créer des produits et processus nouveaux ou améliorés qui offrent une valeur supérieure aux clients

Comment les entreprises novatrices se distinguent des autres

Les entreprises novatrices évoluent constamment. Elles ne sont jamais statiques et cherchent sans cesse de nouvelles façons de s’attaquer aux défis auxquels leurs clients font face.

Ainsi, H2O Innovation, une entreprise établie à Québec et incluse dans le rapport du Conference Board du Canada, s’est imposée sur la scène internationale en fournissant des solutions uniques de traitement de l’eau et des eaux usées. Ayant développé plusieurs technologies exclusives, dont un service de surveillance à distance des systèmes, H2O Innovation s’appuie sur son équipe multidisciplinaire de scientifiques et d’ingénieurs pour élaborer des solutions sur mesure qui répondent précisément aux besoins de chaque client.

Symbility Solutions, une entreprise de Toronto, offre des solutions technologiques faciles à utiliser pour le traitement des demandes de règlement d’assurance. Grâce aux progrès technologiques des services mobiles et en nuage, Symbility a amélioré ses solutions afin de permettre aux professionnels de l’assurance de travailler où qu’ils soient, ce qui accroît la demande de ses produits partout dans le monde. En particulier, Symbility a pris note de l’utilisation accrue des téléphones intelligents dans les régions en développement comme l’Afrique, l’Asie et le Moyen-Orient, où près de 70 % de la population totale utilisera des téléphones cellulaires d’ici 2017, selon une étude de eMarketer†.

Comment innover

Les chefs d’entreprise doivent comprendre ce qu’est l’innovation ainsi que les façons d’innover. Le rapport du Conference Board du Canada indique que, selon des études, quatre aspects de l’innovation favorisent la réussite sur les marchés mondiaux :

  1. Mettre au point des produits nouveaux et améliorés : Le lancement de produits nouveaux ou améliorés permet aux entreprises de se démarquer de leurs concurrents mondiaux. Les innovations doivent être adaptées aux besoins des clients.
  2. Investir dans la recherche et le développement : Les investissements en recherche et développement sont essentiels à la mise au point de produits nouveaux et améliorés. Par exemple, les entreprises canadiennes de logiciels qui réussissent à l’international affectent jusqu’à la moitié de leur main-d’œuvre au développement de produits.
  3. Adopter et créer de nouvelles technologies : La réussite internationale est étroitement liée aux compétences technologiques des entreprises. Ces compétences peuvent être réunies par l’embauche d’ingénieurs et de scientifiques, le suivi des progrès technologiques et l’utilisation de technologies de pointe.
  4. S’ouvrir aux nouvelles méthodes en matière de tarification et de vente : Certaines entreprises, notamment celles vendant des produits qui ne se démarquent pas facilement, peuvent s’assurer une réussite internationale en réexaminant leurs méthodes de vente. Par exemple, Conifex Timber a créé une division interne de vente et distribution pour permettre aux acheteurs asiatiques du segment intermédiaire d’éviter les majorations de prix de gros et d’acheter directement du producteur.

Les besoins des clients changent constamment et les entreprises qui évoluent pour répondre à ces besoins, en proposant des solutions avant-gardistes, se démarqueront.

Comme Symbility et H2O Innovation, les entreprises canadiennes peuvent se tailler une place sur le marché mondial. Un engagement à l’égard de l’innovation ainsi que des ressources affectés à la recherche et au développement continu les aideront énormément.

Un conseiller de confiance peut soutenir votre approche novatrice en matière de service à la clientèle internationale. Nos gestionnaires de relations bancaires sont établis dans plus de 60 pays et nous aidons depuis 150 ans les entreprises à vocation internationale à réussir. La HSBC a les connaissances et l’expérience requises pour aider votre entreprise à innover et à réussir à l’international.

Pour en savoir plus sur ce qu’il faut pour se tailler une place à l’international, téléchargez Vendre à l’étranger..

Source : étude de eMarketer (en anglais seulement).

*Publié en juin 2015.

Source: Vendre à l'étranger - Les clés du succès des entreprises à vocation internationale, juin 2015

Les quatre clés du succès des entreprises à vocation internationale

Expériences de clients

Les renseignements fournis ne sont pas nécessairement exhaustifs et ne sauraient être interprétés comme des conseils professionnels de nature financière, juridique, fiscale ou autre. Vous ne devriez pas agir sur la foi de cette information sans avoir obtenu les conseils d'un professionnel. Le présent document a été préparé avec soin, mais la HSBC ne peut garantir, ni s'engager à déclarer (explicitement ou implicitement) que ces renseignements sont exacts et complets. Les renseignements présentés dans ce document peuvent être modifiés sans préavis.

Certains des produits et services proposés par la Banque HSBC Canada, ses filiales et ses sociétés affiliées sont offerts sous réserve d'une approbation de crédit. Ce document ne saurait constituer une offre de fournir les services et les produits qui y sont décrits et la prestation de ces services et produits demeure assujettie au contrat.

Les services HSBCnet sont fournis au Canada par la Banque HSBC Canada. Les caractéristiques et les fonctions de HSBCnet varient d'un pays à l'autre. Ces services sont assujettis à la réglementation canadienne en matière de sanctions.

Publié par la Banque HSBC Canada (la «HSBC»)
© Banque HSBC Canada 2017. TOUS DROITS RÉSERVÉS.

Vous êtes sur le point de quitter le site de la HSBC au Canada pour les clients entreprises.

Veuillez prendre note que les politiques du site externe sont différentes de celles de notre site Web et de la politique en matière de confidentialité. Le prochain site s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre ou dans un nouvel onglet du navigateur.

Vous quittez le site Web des services aux entreprises de la HSBC.

Veuillez noter que les politiques du site externe seront différentes des conditions et de la politique de confidentialité de notre site Web. Le prochain site s’ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre de navigation ou dans un nouvel onglet.