Foreign Market Knowledge

The thirst to grow and evolve leads many Canadian companies to set their sights on foreign markets. No business, however, can hope to flourish in an arena it does not understand. For the best chance of success, organizations planning to grow globally must match their desire to expand with an equally enthusiastic pursuit of in-depth market knowledge.

A recent report by The Conference Board of Canada entitled Selling to the World: The Keys to International Business Success* identified market knowledge as one of four key factors necessary for Canadian organizations to thrive in foreign markets. The other three keys are skilled executives, innovation capabilities and international networks. And, there are four ways that understanding your market will potentially help lead to global success.

Committing to Market Orientation

Developing insight into a foreign market is only possible once a company has made a commitment to having a market orientation. That means having a dedication to giving customers the best possible product or service by tailoring it to their specific needs.

In turn, market orientation drives firms to seek in-depth market knowledge to help them excel at three core activities: prioritizing which foreign customers to pursue, knowing the best way to meet the needs of those clients, and how best to adapt their products to international customers' needs.

Selecting a Foreign Market

Deciding where to begin a global expansion can be overwhelming. By starting with a foundation of market orientation, organizations can focus on investigating where their goods and services will be in the greatest demand.

For example, when Manitoba-based Ag Growth International decided to expand outside Canada, its leaders took the time to carefully study which countries were most in need of their agricultural equipment. Based on thorough research, the company chose to move into Russia and the Ukraine, where there was the highest need for its products.

Choosing the Best Approach

Once a company has decided where to expand, it must then select the best approach to successfully enter its chosen markets. All approaches—acquisitions, direct sales, opening foreign offices—have their pros and cons. The more a business knows about its potential customer base, the greater chance it will have of successfully penetrating the market.

The leaders of Symbility Solutions, a small software company in Ontario, wanted to expand internationally but knew they didn't have the means to establish foreign offices. Instead, the firm used resellers based in the local markets. The company recognized that these partners would bring existing customer relationships and a familiarity with the market that would ease the expansion process.

Adapting to New Customers' Needs

A company with a market orientation does not develop products in isolation and then hope that customers will buy, but instead adapts its products and marketing approach to meet the specific needs of the customers it's targeting.

For example, in the early 2000s, Ontario-based IMAX's efforts to get commercial theatres interested in using its technology were continuously thwarted by the substantial costs customers would have to bear. Eventually IMAX realized it had to adapt its vision for expansion to the needs of potential clients. The company responded by making its technology more affordable and redesigning its theatres so they could fit into existing cinemas.

In-depth market knowledge is an indispensable tool for Canadian companies looking to take their products and services into the global marketplace.

HSBC offers a network of over 70 countries worldwide including over 167 outlets in 56 cities in China^ and 150 years of experience helping international businesses succeed. We bring unparalleled market knowledge to clients looking to expand across borders. That's why HSBC can be your trusted advisor to navigate the markets as your company executes on its international vision.

Explore more about Selling to the World and what it takes to global success, download the full report here.

Four Keys to International Business Success

Customer Stories

Disclaimer

The information presented is not meant to be comprehensive and does not constitute financial, legal, tax or other professional advice. You should not act upon the information contained in this document without first obtaining specific professional advice. While reasonable care has been taken in preparing this document, HSBC does not make any guarantee, representation or warranty (express or implied) as to its accuracy or completeness. The information presented in this document is subject to change without notice.

Certain of the products and services offered by HSBC and its subsidiaries and affiliates are subject to credit adjudication and approval. This document does not constitute an offer to provide the services and products described and the provision of such services and products remains subject to contract.

HSBCnet services are provided in Canada by HSBC Bank Canada. HSBCnet features and functionality vary by country. Subject to Canadian sanction regulation

Issued by HSBC Bank Canada ("HSBC")
© Copyright HSBC Bank Canada 2017. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC CMB website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

Une connaissance des marchés étrangers

Le désir de croître et d’évoluer incite de nombreuses entreprises canadiennes à se tourner vers les marchés étrangers. Aucune entreprise ne peut toutefois espérer prendre de l’essor dans un marché qu’elle ne connaît pas. Pour accroître leurs chances de succès, les entreprises qui planifient une expansion internationale doivent donc également être déterminées à approfondir leur connaissance des marchés ciblés.

Un récent rapport du Conference Board du Canada intitulé Vendre à l’étranger : Les clés du succès des entreprises à l’international* cite la connaissance des marchés comme l’un des quatre facteurs clés du succès des entreprises canadiennes sur les marchés étrangers. Les trois autres sont des cadres qualifiés, l’innovation et un réseau international. Il y a quatre façons dont la connaissance des marchés peut vous aider à réussir à l’international.

S’engager à l’égard d’une orientation commerciale

La connaissance des marchés étrangers est possible seulement lorsque l’entreprise a pris l’engagement d’établir une orientation commerciale. Autrement dit, elle doit avoir à cœur d’offrir à ses clients le meilleur produit ou service possible en l’adaptant en fonction de leurs besoins.

L’orientation commerciale incite l’entreprise à approfondir sa connaissance des marchés afin d’exceller dans trois activités fondamentales : classer les marchés étrangers par ordre de priorité, trouver la meilleure façon de répondre aux besoins des clients internationaux et déterminer comment personnaliser ses produits pour mieux répondre à ces besoins.

Sélectionner un marché étranger

Le moment d’entreprendre une expansion mondiale peut être difficile à déterminer. En ayant établi une orientation commerciale, l’entreprise pourra se concentrer sur les marchés où la demande pour ses produits et services sera la plus forte.

Ainsi, lorsque l’entreprise manitobaine Ag Growth International a décidé de prendre de l’expansion à l’étranger, ses dirigeants ont pris le temps d’examiner avec soin les pays qui avaient le plus besoin de son matériel agricole. Ses recherches approfondies l’ont amenée à sélectionner la Russie et l’Ukraine.

Choisir la meilleure approche

Lorsque l’entreprise a décidé où prendre de l’expansion, elle doit choisir la meilleure approche pour pénétrer les marchés ciblés. Toutes les approches (acquisitions, ventes directes, bureaux à l’étranger) présentent des avantages et des inconvénients. Plus l’entreprise aura acquis de connaissances sur ses clients potentiels, meilleures seront ses chances de succès sur ce marché.

Les dirigeants de Symbility Solutions, une petite entreprise de logiciels établie en Ontario, voulaient étendre leurs activités à l’échelle internationale, mais n’avaient pas les moyens d’ouvrir des bureaux à l’étranger. L’entreprise a plutôt décidé de traiter avec des revendeurs sur place dans les marchés locaux. Ces partenaires avaient déjà établi des relations avec des clients et connaissaient le marché, ce qui faciliterait le processus d’expansion de l’entreprise.

S’adapter aux nouveaux besoins des clients

Une entreprise ayant une orientation commerciale ne développe pas de produits isolément en espérant que les clients les achèteront; elle adapte plutôt ses produits et son marketing en fonction des besoins précis des clients ciblés.

À titre d’exemple, au début des années 2000, l’entreprise ontarienne IMAX n’arrivait pas à convaincre les cinémas d’utiliser sa technologie en raison des frais élevés que les clients devraient payer. IMAX a finalement accepté d’adapter sa vision d’expansion en fonction des besoins des clients éventuels. L’entreprise a décidé de rendre sa technologie plus abordable et de modifier ses salles pour qu’elles s’intègrent dans les cinémas existants.

Une connaissance approfondie des marchés est indispensable pour les entreprises canadiennes qui veulent vendre leurs produits et services partout dans le monde.

Étant implantée dans plus de 70 pays, et possédant notamment 167 établissements dans 56 villes en Chine^ et 150 ans d’expérience, la HSBC aide les entreprises à vocation internationale à réussir. Les clients désirant prendre de l’expansion à l’étranger peuvent tirer parti de notre excellente connaissance des marchés. La HSBC peut devenir votre conseiller de confiance et vous aider à réaliser votre vision sur les marchés internationaux.

Pour en savoir plus sur le rapport «Vendre à l’étranger» et sur ce qu’il faut pour réussir à l’international, cliquez ici pour télécharger le rapport au complet.

Les quatre clés du succès des entreprises à vocation internationale

Expériences de clients

Les renseignements fournis ne sont pas nécessairement exhaustifs et ne sauraient être interprétés comme des conseils professionnels de nature financière, juridique, fiscale ou autre. Vous ne devriez pas agir sur la foi de cette information sans avoir obtenu les conseils d'un professionnel. Le présent document a été préparé avec soin, mais la HSBC ne peut garantir, ni s'engager à déclarer (explicitement ou implicitement) que ces renseignements sont exacts et complets. Les renseignements présentés dans ce document peuvent être modifiés sans préavis.

Certains des produits et services proposés par la Banque HSBC Canada, ses filiales et ses sociétés affiliées sont offerts sous réserve d'une approbation de crédit. Ce document ne saurait constituer une offre de fournir les services et les produits qui y sont décrits et la prestation de ces services et produits demeure assujettie au contrat.

Les services HSBCnet sont fournis au Canada par la Banque HSBC Canada. Les caractéristiques et les fonctions de HSBCnet varient d'un pays à l'autre. Ces services sont assujettis à la réglementation canadienne en matière de sanctions.

Publié par la Banque HSBC Canada (la «HSBC»)
© Banque HSBC Canada 2017. TOUS DROITS RÉSERVÉS.

Vous êtes sur le point de quitter le site de la HSBC au Canada pour les clients entreprises.

Veuillez prendre note que les politiques du site externe sont différentes de celles de notre site Web et de la politique en matière de confidentialité. Le prochain site s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre ou dans un nouvel onglet du navigateur.

Vous quittez le site Web des services aux entreprises de la HSBC.

Veuillez noter que les politiques du site externe seront différentes des conditions et de la politique de confidentialité de notre site Web. Le prochain site s’ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre de navigation ou dans un nouvel onglet.